An important update has come in from New York State on how to obtain an Order for Mandatory or Precautionary Quarantine under New York’s “Emergency COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave Law” - this is the required written documentation that must be submitted along with your COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave claim.
How Employees Can Get The Required Documentation
How to obtain the "Order for Quarantine"
According to New York State, to get an order of precautionary or mandatory order of quarantine or isolation due to COVID-19, you should contact your Local Health Department, which you can search for here.
Local Health Departments should provide written orders in a timely manner, and are required to provide requested orders within 30 days.
If they are unable to immediately provide you with an order, you are able to submit interim documentation from a licensed medical provider (as outlined below) who has treated you, attesting that you qualify for the order. Then, follow up with your Local Health Department to get the proper document and submit the actual "Order for Quarantine" to your insurance carrier as soon as you receive it.
How to get Interim Documentation from Your Licensed Medical Provider
The documentation from your licensed medical provider must include the following:
If you are subject to Mandatory Isolation, an attestation that you meet one or more of the following criteria:
- You have tested positive for COVID-19; OR
- Testing is currently unavailable to you, but you are symptomatic and have had contact with a known COVID-19 case.
If you are subject to Mandatory Quarantine, an attestation that you meet one or more of the following criteria:
- You have been in close contact with someone who has tested positive for COVID-19 or is currently in mandatory isolation; OR
- You are symptomatic and have returned within the past 14-days from a country designated with a level 2, 3, or 4 advisory for COVID-19.
If you are subject to a Precautionary Quarantine, an attestation that you meet one or more of the following criteria:
- You are asymptomatic and have returned within the past 14-days from a country designated with a level 2,3 or 4 advisory for COVID-19; OR
- You have been determined to have had proximate exposure with someone who has tested positive for COVID-19.
ShelterPoint (or your statutory DB/PFL Insurance carrier) may contact you to verify the information you provide as part of your claim. If you do not follow all the steps above in providing the required documentation with your claim, it may be denied. Before submitting your claim, be sure to double check your eligibility here.
Get more tools and guidance in our COVID-19 Resource Center.
This blog post is for informational purposes only and is not intended to provide legal counsel. Please consult with an appropriate professional for legal and compliance advice. Any Emergency COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave, Disability Benefits Law (DBL) and/or Paid Family Leave (PFL) information is as of the blog post’s date stamp; it is based on the applicable statutes and regulation, and may change as regulations evolve or NY State issues guidance regarding regulations.